• Female rabbits are called a doe. Male rabbits are called a buck. Baby rabbits are called a kit, kitten or bunny.
  • The term bunny is used to informally rabbit’s in general.
  • A group of rabbits is called a colony or nest.
  • There are approximately 60 recognized breeds of rabbits.
  • The largest breed of rabbit is the Flemish Giant that can weigh as much as 22 pounds.
  • Rabbits have 5 toes on each of their front paws and 4 toes on each of their hind feet. Rabbits do not have pads on their paws.
  • Rabbits can see nearly 360°, with a small blind spot at the bridge of their nose.
  • Rabbits will pause when threatened to observe and then warn others by making a powerful thump on the ground with their hind legs.
  • The average gestation length is about 28 days.
  • Birthing is known as kindling. Depending on the breed, rabbits have between two and ten kits per litter.
  • Rabbits are altricial, their babies are born blind and hairless. Rabbits begin to grow fur at 7 days old and their eyes open around 10 days old.
  • Rabbits are herbivores (vegetarian). Their diet consists of good quality pellets, fresh hay (timothy, alfalfa or oat), fresh vegetables and water.
  • Rabbits can be used for many things. Rabbits are great pets! Rabbits are also shown at county fairs or other national clubs and shows. Some rabbits are raised for fur or for meat.
  • More than half the worlds rabbit population resides in North America.
  • The average life expectancy for a rabbit is between 8 to 12 years.



Big Momma